The World Franchise Council: Everything You Need to Know

Fair and ethical franchising worldwide
Fair and ethical franchising worldwide / The WFC aspires to be a leading source of reliable information for the worldwide franchise community.
The World Franchise Council is the leading platform for fostering collaboration and cooperation among international franchise associations.

The World Franchise Council (WFC) is a non-political organization that formed in 1994 and is composed of more than 40 national franchise associations from across the globe. The primary goal of the organisation is to promote the worldwide expansion of franchising and to further the knowledge and use of best practices among its members.

Organization History 

The WFC’s had its beginnings during the first International Summit, which was sponsored by the Mexican Franchise Association in 1993. At the first conference delegates from France, Mexico, Europe, Argentina, Canada and the United States penciled the draft constitution for the WFC. Eventually, The European Franchise Federation and IFA agreed during the IFA's Annual Convention in Las Vegas in February of 1994 to establish the WFC.

The British Franchise Association (BFA) established and headed a task group to assist in the development of a comprehensive charter. This draft was adopted in the Lisbon Conference of 1995. Although some aspects of the draft have changed over time to meet shifting market needs, the aims and objectives have remained consistent. This is due to the necessity for a written constitution to reflect the interests of all the member countries. 


The World Franchise Council seeks to provide a structure that ensures franchising best practices are actively taught and developed throughout member countries. Additionally, it attempts to create fundamental regulations and ensure their compliance to protect the business environment for franchising. 

Furthermore, the WFC aims to assist franchisors and franchisees in identifying their position within the legal system of the operating country. The WFC also promotes the fulfillment of responsibilities and offers knowledge and resources to help franchises grow.

To put it simply, the World Franchise Council's main objectives are to increase global knowledge and promote franchise systems, as well as to enable best practices in franchise association administration and to encourage nations that don't have a franchise association to establish one.


The WFC members meet twice a year, with national associations stepping forward to serve as hosts. With associations from all over the globe, meeting sites rotate throughout the world regularly to ensure representation. Much of the work and important exchange of information between associations takes place at these meetings.

The work of the council is prepared by the various secretariats appointed by those national associations with both the time and resources necessary to accomplish them. All associations offer up to date information on the status of franchising in their respective countries, with a focus on economic and legal developments. This sharing of information is invaluable for members of the WFC national associations.

International Franchise Exhibitions

Franchise exhibitions are conducted in member nationals of the World Franchise Council. They are an excellent opportunity for businesses to promote themselves and meet with a wide range of sellers in their chosen sector. The World Franchise Council authorises exhibits of member states only. 

The newest 2021 exhibition, Expofranquicia will take place in Spain on September 16-18. Expofranquicia will be held in Madrid and is a franchise exhibition where you can learn from professionals in the field and network with other franchisees.


Full membership of the WFC is available to all national franchise associations that are established as not-for-profit organisations. Organizations that seek membership must be made up mostly of franchising firms and have their own franchising code that adheres to the WFC's standards.


Current WFC members include, but are not limited to Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Great Britain, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan and Korea. The WFC also includes Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, U.A.E, U.S.A, Venezuela and the European Franchise Federation.


popular on forum